I'm pretty sure when this happens you're actually dead, as the resume button check whether you have a running game or not. If the server notices your hp is 0 or below, your current running game gets deleted as it's marked as game over.
The real bug in this case is the "freeze" which happens because you're dead for the server, while on client side you're still playing for some reason. As there's a data mismatch, it freezes.